10:31 RECOMMENDS: Third Day – Miracle

Rating 9/10

Growing up as a fan of Christian Music I can’t remember a year when Grammy Award winning Southern Rock group Third Day didn’t release a project of some kind. In fact with 20 titles available from the band since 1993 the band has only not released something 3 years (1998, 2002, 2011) of their long and illustrious career that doesn’t seem to be slowing down anytime soon. In fact as they come back with an all new studio album Miracle, from a year of time with their families the music is just as good as it’s always been, maybe even better.

Miracle starts off with “Hit Me Like a Bomb” a powerful rock song that does just what the title suggests. It’s followed up almost perfectly by the acoustic driven rock song “Kickin’ and Screaming.” Fans will certainly pick up and appreciate the difference between this album and their previous success Move. They will also notice the difference between the songs themselves. “Love is Like a River” takes on that southern rock style that the band is so well known for. Meanwhile the afore mentioned “Hit Me Like a Bomb” and “The Victory” are more straight rock songs with southern rock undertones. Third Day also shows their mastery of the Ballad on “For the Rest of My Life” and “I Need a Miracle.” Overall it was good to hear the veteran band switch up their instrumentation so much from song to song, avoiding the trap of all the songs and albums sounding the same.

Miracle also shines Lyrically too. It may not be their best album but it certainly will please the strong contingent of Gomers (Third Day Fans) and help to woo new fans. “Your Love is like A River” stands out as one of Third Day’s future classic worship songs, while “You are my Everything” fits a Love Song. “Kickin’ and Screaming” talks about not wanting to be separated from God, and “Hit me Like a Bomb” talks about God’s sudden and unexpected work in our lives. “For the Rest of my Life” is an amazing song, not only lyrically but musically, showing off Mac Powell’s vocal talent. The song talks about connecting with God, wanting God to be near us as we walk down this road of life. (“For the rest of my life, Will you be by my side, I can’t make it by myself, I want you and no one else, for the rest of my life”).

After almost 20 years in the business it’s good to see that Third Day can still produce good quality music without conforming to the expectations set by the industry. This is possibly one of the best albums of 2012, maybe of the bands long career and will make a perfect addition to any collection.

Review By Jonathan David Faulkner, originally posted on Altrocklive.com

Record Label: Essential Records
Album length: 12 tracks: 41 minutes, 47 seconds
Street Date: November 6, 2012

  1. Hit Me Like a Bomb (3:22)
  2. Kicking and Screaming (2:48)
  3. Love is Like a River (4:17)
  4. I Need a Miracle (3:44)
  5. You Are My Everything (3:49)
  6. For the Rest of My Life (2:50)
  7. I Want to Believe in You (3:20)
  8. The Victory (3:13)
  9. Take Me Back (3:20)
  10. Forever Yours (4:07)
  11. Time’s Running Out on Me (3:37)
  12. Morning Has Broken (3:25)

2 responses to “10:31 RECOMMENDS: Third Day – Miracle

Tell us What you Think!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s